Pushing Virtual Limits


ESX3i – finally SATA support
September 23, 2007, 2:52 am
Filed under: VM

So if you read my earlier posts you know that in the office we have machines I have been dying to turn into my dev esx installation but they have Sata drives. Now I can make that happen!

Do I have plans to do some testing at home? Maybe. It is hard to find the time during the day to test out API work I have been tinkering with and having a platform to hit off hours wouldn’t be a bad thing.

So when it goes public I will give the trial a shot at home.

Now to discuss a serious issue – How do you deal with making local storage on an ESX host available to admins as a VMFS share but invisible to normal users?

Interesting problem without an obvious fix that I have found. Please enlighten me if you have one.

Also, anyone will to mail me one of those thumbdrives with the bootable ESX on it would make my year.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

