Pushing Virtual Limits


Weekend Project
October 15, 2007, 1:31 am
Filed under: Weekend Project

So I had a fun little weekend project, about 3 months ago I drew up a quick sketch for a new entertainment center for my TV. This sketch got sent off to a fantastic woodworker in Maine who in his spare time whipped this together for me. It arrived from Maine in 6 pieces (per the design so it can be shipped easily). After looking at the raw wood a plan came together and off to Ace hardware I went to collect supplies.

It is a solid oak frame with cabinet quality birch plywood on the field. The stain is Var – Dark Mahogany, with 3 coats of satin poly.  As an afterthought I would have done a second application of stain to try and get it darker but it is a good color and I would rather it be a tad light.

I had an issue with a lot of glare from the bank of windows facing the screen. By placing the TV on a wall mount I was able to elevate and tilt the TV thereby removing the glare. Extra added bonus – I recovered nearly 10 inches of floor space in my rather diminutive apartment!

Even though I did actually recover some floor space the change from a normal black MDF entertainment center to this more minimalist design is so nice. Aside from getting one page from work this was the entire weekends enterprise and now that it is complete, the fumes from staining it inside the apartment are gone, and I have finished the cleanup and rewiring I am a very happy camper.

Here is one quick shot of it (The TiVo was recording Paula Dean) and more shots of the whole process can be found on my Picasa page http://picasaweb.google.com/berginjm/

img_0070.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

