Pushing Virtual Limits


SS4200-E – Thank god I learned to RTFM
April 30, 2008, 12:28 pm
Filed under: Documentation, VM

Finding a solid NAS solution for my home environment is becoming increasingly critical. My primary storage array is down to 40GB free! I will have to start culling the herd soon if I don’t find a solution soon.

With the new EMC LifeLine product series finally becoming available to the mass market I was very tempted to get one of these boxes. After reading the Storage Anarchist’s review I was practically walking around with my credit card out and ready to spend. On the face of things this is THE product that solves the majority of my needs.

Luckily I took some time to read the updated documentation before purchasing it. Here are the glaring problems:

1. No NFS support – Seriously? How could this have been released without NFS support?

2. NTFS drives attached via USB are read only. – If Debian can read and write to NTFS this product sure as heck better be able to.

3. eSata connector allows only ONE partition – I had hopes of attaching a 5 drive esata box to this and allowing the lifeline to manage it. Consider that dream shattered.

4. Don’t even think of trying to set it up with both NICs connected –

5. HDD hot plug support was in the SS4000 but it has been removed in this version? – minor problem but still it makes one wonder why.

6. The much touted hard drive spin down technology DOESN’T WORK – ( See install guide 2.2.8)

7. That bullet point about having a print server support? Get something else if you need that as that feature is “Planned for a future release”

8. USB Drives attached via a Hub? This won’t work. NPTF – No plans to fix

Those are 8 pretty serious failings. It doesn’t look like this device supports iSCSI which is what I really want. Maybe I am looking at the wrong price point here but these systems are not cheap NOR are they underpowered.

I included the manual I pulled these glaring problems from below along with a link to the Intel download site and the cheapest place I could find a bare bones system (380$). Now I am frustrated because I have a clear need but nothing that seems to fit the bill. Anyone have any ideas?

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_results.aspx?strTypes=all&ProductID=2910&OSFullName=Windows*+XP+Home+Edition〈=eng&strOSs=45&submit=Go%21

http://www.pcsuperstore.com/products/Q33118-Intel-SS4200EHWNA.html/froogle/

ss4200-e_sw_release_notes-rev11

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You may want to check the latest release of the EMC s/w — it fixes several of the fore mentioned items.

Comment by dlong

YThe latest release of the software on Intel’s site DOES infact support nfs and fixes a ton of issues by running Linux.

Comment by Tom

1.1.11.32736 says it sees my printer (canon pixma 5200), but when I try to print it always pauses and nothing is output. 0 related content in event log.

Comment by msudder at gmail

That was my printer comment. In addition

the device needs some form of network reset every day – **NOT** acceptable.

IN addition the mac-based local ws running localhost:8888 often crashes, perhaps these 2 points are related, neither are acceptible.

Comment by msudder at gmail

Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite
justification seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.

I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Comment by game design berlin

Hey there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll certinly digg it and personally suggest
to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited froom this website.

Comment by best chicken breast




Leave a Reply

