Pushing Virtual Limits


VMware backup – possible solutions
May 7, 2008, 11:28 am
Filed under: VM, vmware

So in the realm of looking into solutions I have been testing Vizioncore’s vRanger Pro to see if it made sense and solved the backup problems my current system (networker over VCB) is presenting.

vRanger seems to work well. I don’t love the interface but it works and was pretty straightforward on the install. Depending on the final verdict I chose for a VMware management solution this will or won’t be part of the final package.

I am still working on getting those three product suites up and collecting the correct data. It must not be this difficult for most installations or I can’t imagine they would sell very many sockets. The support teams have been very helpful and I am hoping that we make serious progress this week as I want this evaluation period over so I can move on to other things.

As a side note I may have another possible hot backup solution from one of our in house divisions. The product is called Avamar and they sell a bundled unit that runs as an appliance and can handle either .5TB or 1TB of data. As I have just a bit over .5TB of “Mission Critical” data running in the lab I have asked one of the folks who works downstairs if he can help me out. We will see if I am able to get a version of that up and running. (My first attempts to get licenses through normal channels was shot down but this back channel route seems to be much more effective).

Back to the grind.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

