Pushing Virtual Limits


VMware on a CX3-40
June 11, 2008, 5:31 pm
Filed under: Documentation, vmware | Tags: , , , ,

I have the good fortune to run VMware on a single CX3-40. Right now I have approximately 30TB of usable disk space. Lots of space is great but with the frequent snapshot usage and the constant resizing of disks in a development/testing/replication lab I chose to go with smaller LUNs.

How small?

400GB per lun. 20TB of allocated storage / 400 GB LUNs = ~50 LUNs!

I am going to continue with the 400GB LUNs even as I expand out to two additional CX boxes (Probably CX4-40c’s) and add another 20TB of storage in two more locations. My concern is that my naming convention is sub optimal.

SAN_1 through SAN_30 vs my local storage naming convention LOCAL_(first letter of machine name)_(Volume) <Local_Q_1>

I think I will begin naming the child locations SAN_L_1, SAN_T_1, etc. Using the letter of the site in the name of the LUN keeps the friendly names presented in the datastores view clear. I hate nothing more than when I go and see someones infrastructure and they have local(1)-local(26). The datastores view has serious value if you utilize it correctly.

This post begins to detail one alternative plan to my design – VMEtc

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

John,

So how big is your average VM’s virtual disks? 20GB?, 100GB?. I ask because if you go with 400GB VMFS volumes across the board it determines how many VMs you fit per LUN.

BTW, thanks for reading http://vmetc.com!

Comment by Rich

10-20GB in size with a few outliers at 70-80GB that are setup and then destroyed as soon as the issue is resolved.

When you count in multiple snap shots the profile for one VM tends to fall in around 35GB in size.

I try to keep it balanced so there is always 100GB free on each LUN (snapshots tend to grow).

Comment by berginjm




Leave a Reply

